Happy Birthday, Dr. Seuss! He’s 108! (+ Giveaway) – CLOSED

By Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez

Today, Theodor Seuss Geisel, more popularly known as Dr. Seuss is 108 years old!

“Well, why would we care about that?” you might ask.

If you’re a reader, you would know that Dr. Seuss has published more than 60 children’s  books that have topped many bestseller lists and have sold over 222 million copies, which have been translated in over 15 languages!

Take that, Mr. Cat in the Hat! 

 Dr. Seuss is no publishing wallflower!

But, it isn’t just his literary fame we’re celebrating today.

For me, it’s the memory of reading his anapestic tetrameter—for you aspiring poets, this is a poetic meter that has four anapestic metrical feet per line—when I was just a little wee-thing.

Yes, this is me at age five, the year I started to read!

(c) Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez

And my inner-child still enjoys a Dr. Seuss classic!

***

Whether it’s Green Eggs and Ham for breakfast…

Or One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish for lunch…

i
Blue Fish

…or Fox in Socks in the winter!

Fox in Socks

(Even this guy agrees with me!)

I could go on, but there are so many great books by our beloved

Dr. Seuss to post on this one blog.

***

And rightly so. Dr. Seuss’ work has been a classic over generations!

My son, Michael, who is now seven years old was even inspired to create his own version of the Thingamajigger during his free time without any coercion from me:

Thingamajigger by Michael (a work in progress)

(c) Zara D. Garcia-Alvarez

(Yes, I know. It’s supposed to look like the picture below, but it’s a work in progress. He’s told me that he still needs to add the wings and paint the back. Yes, sir!)


And to celebrate, here’s a video of Michael reading,

I Can Read with My Eyes Shut:

Click on the image to see the video!

***

And what’s a birthday celebration without a giveaway?

Do you love Dr. Seuss as much as I do and my son Michael? If the answer is yes, then enter for a chance to win a brand new copy of:

ONE FISH, TWO FISH, BLUE FISH, RED FISH

(A special thank you to Random House Canada for providing me with a complimentary copy at the last Blog Fest.)

Giveaway Rules:

  1. This giveaway is INTERNATIONAL!
  2. You must have a valid email and mailing address to qualify. No P.O. Box addresses accepted.
  3. You must be 15 years old or older to enter.
  4. You must follow my blog by email to enter (Click on the widget on the right-hand side of my blog.) and complete the online form below.
  5. Only one entry per person, excluding extra-earned entries.
  6. Winner must respond to notification within 48 hours to claim prize. If winner fails to claim prize, a new winner will be chosen.
  7. Contest ends Friday, March 16, 2012.

To enter, please fill out this form.

Here’s wishing Dr. Seuss a very happy birthday and the continual success of children’s book publication and the joy that books bring to the kid in us all.

3 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Dr. Seuss! He’s 108! (+ Giveaway) – CLOSED”

Leave a Reply

